1812 Centre Creek Dr., Suite 110, Austin 78754 / (512) 476-5775 / EMAIL

Here Comes the Light (Christmas 2009)

Patrice Pike is known to many as the electric front woman for the seminal Austin jam band Sister Seven which she co-founded when she was barely out of The High School for the performing and visual arts at Booker T. Washington in Dallas Texas. Their first major label album was a rare and unique live recording which at that time was unheard of in the music industry for a new breaking band. Patrice wrote and sang Sister Seven’s top 10 Billboard hit “Know What You Mean’. She was the USA Songwriting Competition Grand Prize Winner overall for the song “My Three Wishes”, co-written with her Sister Seven band members. In this contest she also garnered top prize for Pop category for “Nobody Knows” written with famed songwriter/producer John Shanks. Over the past decade, she has independently released four acclaimed solo records, showcasing her socially astute, literate lyrics alongside her powerful vocals. She has toured relentlessly, both in the U.S. and overseas, building an impressive grassroots fan base. She has co-created numerous records and musical groups, toured all over the United States and Western Europe and just plain impressed those who've seen, heard and watched her. The resilient Pike has been able to adapt repeatedly to a rapidly changing music landscape that bears no resemblance to the one she entered as a 16 year old. Patrice was the youngest musician inducted into the Austin/Texas Music Hall of Fame. Along with that honor she was also named Musician of the Year, Best Female Vocalist, and Song of the year in Austin for her song "Beautiful Thing," which she debuted on CBS in the Summer of 2006. She has continued to grow and evolve as both a songwriter and a performer, and is currently producing arguably the finest work of her music career. She has performed in every possible live scenario from shed tours of traveling festivals like Lilith and HORDE tour to music festival institutions like Austin City Limit’s, High Sierra, Strawberry, and Kerrville festivals as well as community theaters, clubs and house concerts.
With Special Guest Artist Patrice Pike

Recorded live December 2009 at The Carillon, Austin, TX

Thomas Burritt, Percussion
Additional musical arrangements, piano/vocal performances by Craig Hella Johnson

  1. Come Darkness, Come Light (Mary Chapin Carpenter, arr. CHJ)
  2. Slave Song (Sade Adu)
  3. Rorate Caeli (Jacob Handl)
  4. Darkness, Darkness (Jesse Colin Young)
  5. Higher Ground (Stevie Wonder)
  6. Is a Light Shinin’ in the Heavens? (arr. Robert L. Morris)
  7. Soñaba (Stephen Paulus)
  8. Here Comes the Light (Patrice Pike)
  9. Changed (James MacMillan)
  10. Changed from Glory into Glory (Rowland H. Prichard)
  11. And the Glory of the Lord (Messiah, G.F. Handel)
  12. Gaudete (Michael McGlynn)
  13. Lighthouse / O Morning Star (Antje Duvekot, Kate Klim / harm. J.S. Bach)
  14. Dawn (Eric Barnum)
  15. I Need You (Mark Batson, Alicia Cook)
  16. Carol of the Bells (Ukrainian carol)
  17. O Holy Night (Adolphe Adam)
  18. Wishes and Candles (Stephen Paulus)
  19. Down to the River to Pray (traditional)
  20. Christmas Time Is Here (Vince Guaraldi, arr. Cynthia Gonzales)
  21. Munus (Steven Sametz)
  22. Closing Sequence (arr. CHJ)
  23. I Could Have Danced All Night / Dance with Me (Lerner, Lowe / Patrice Pike)
  24. I Won’t Give Up (Patrice Pike)