1812 Centre Creek Dr., Suite 110, Austin 78754 / (512) 476-5775 / EMAIL

Sudden Light (Christmas 2010)

Patrice Pike is known to many as the electric front woman for the seminal Austin jam band Sister Seven which she co-founded when she was barely out of The High School for the performing and visual arts at Booker T. Washington in Dallas Texas. Their first major label album was a rare and unique live recording which at that time was unheard of in the music industry for a new breaking band. Patrice wrote and sang Sister Seven’s top 10 Billboard hit “Know What You Mean’. She was the USA Songwriting Competition Grand Prize Winner overall for the song “My Three Wishes”, co-written with her Sister Seven band members. In this contest she also garnered top prize for Pop category for “Nobody Knows” written with famed songwriter/producer John Shanks. Over the past decade, she has independently released four acclaimed solo records, showcasing her socially astute, literate lyrics alongside her powerful vocals. She has toured relentlessly, both in the U.S. and overseas, building an impressive grassroots fan base. She has co-created numerous records and musical groups, toured all over the United States and Western Europe and just plain impressed those who've seen, heard and watched her. The resilient Pike has been able to adapt repeatedly to a rapidly changing music landscape that bears no resemblance to the one she entered as a 16 year old. Patrice was the youngest musician inducted into the Austin/Texas Music Hall of Fame. Along with that honor she was also named Musician of the Year, Best Female Vocalist, and Song of the year in Austin for her song "Beautiful Thing," which she debuted on CBS in the Summer of 2006. She has continued to grow and evolve as both a songwriter and a performer, and is currently producing arguably the finest work of her music career even as she confronts the uncertainty of an industry in steep decline. She has performed in every possible live scenario from shed tours of traveling festivals like Lilith and HORDE tour to music festival institutions like Austin City Limit’s, High Sierra, Strawberry, and Kerrville festivals as well as community theaters, clubs and house concerts. (Photo Jonothan Holloway)
With Special Guest Artist Patrice Pike

Recorded live December 2010 at The Carillon, Austin, TX

Thomas Burritt, Percussion
Piano/vocal performances by Craig Hella Johnson. Arrangements not otherwise noted are by Craig Hella Johnson.

  1. Veni Creator Spiritus (plainsong chant)
  2. Veni Emmanuel / Do You Hear What I Hear (plainsong chant / Gloria Shayne Baker)
  3. Bring Me Home (Sade Adu)
  4. Kyrie (Missa in Illo tempore) (Claudio Monteverdi)
  5. Lost Forever (Joby Talbot)
  6. Sudden Light (John Wesley Magee)
  7. Volcanoes (Patrice Pike)
  8. Prelude 5 / Hush / Lo, How a Rose (Michael Burritt / spiritual, arr. Brazeal Dennard / traditional)
  9. Jubilate Deo (Hans Leo Hassler)
  10. Modeh Ani / Elohai Neshamah (modern chant)
  11. Take ’em Away (Christopher Fuqua)
  12. God’s Dearest Work of Art (arr. Craig Hella Johnson)
  13. Noel (African, arr. Brad Holmes)
  14. What’s Goin’ On? (Cleveland, Enson, and Gaye)
  15. Woodstock (Joni Mitchell)
  16. Why (Annie Lennox)
  17. The Scientist (Berryman, Buckland, Champion, & Martin)
  18. Contre Qui, Rose (Morten Lauridsen)
  19. How We Love (Beth Nielson Chapman)
  20. True Colors (Tom Kelly, Billy Steinberg)
  21. The Calling (Patrice Pike)
  22. Wake Up Everybody (Whitehead, McFadden, & Carstarphen)
  23. I’ll Be Home for Christmas (Ram, Gannon, & Kent)
  24. This Bitter Earth (Clyde Lovern Otis)
  25. We Clasp the Hands (Craig Hella Johnson)
  26. I Could’ve Danced All Night / Dance with Me (Lerner, Loewe / Patrice Pike)