1812 Centre Creek Dr., Suite 110, Austin 78754 / (512) 476-5775 / EMAIL

Threshold of Night (Tarik O’Regan)

Tarik O’Regan, “one of the leading British composers of his generation” (Gramophone) who is writing “music of startling beauty” (The Observer), grew up in London, where he was born in 1978, spending some of his childhood in Morocco and Algeria. Since 2007 he has divided his time between New York City and Cambridge, England. His recent projects include "Suite from Heart of Darkness" for the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (2013); two North African-influenced compositions: "Raï," for the Dutch National Ballet, and "Chaâbi," commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra (2012); a third solo album on the Harmonia Mundi label, Acallam na Senórach; the premiere of his first opera "Heart of Darkness" at the Royal Opera House, London (2011); and "Latent Manifest" with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (BBC Proms commission, 2010). Currently O’Regan is working on a full-length ballet, commissioned by the Dutch National Ballet; and large-scale new works for the Hallé Orchestra, Sydney Dance Company, SOUK at the Royal Concertgebouw, American Opera Projects, and the University of Michigan. In 2014 he is the featured composer in the Vale of Glamorgan Festival (BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Chamber Choir Ireland) and New Music for a New Age (Washington Chorus). His music is described as “exquisite and delicate” (The Washington Post); “beautifully-imagined, holding the audience rapt” (The Financial Times); “sublime: a piece that you didn't want to end” (The Times, London); and generating “previously unheard sound worlds with astonishing effect” (The Philadelphia Inquirer). Recorded on over 25 albums, and published exclusively by Novello & Co./Music Sales Classical, O’Regan’s work has been recognized with: two Grammy® nominations (including Best Classical Album) for Threshold of Night; a Gramophone Award nomination for Scattered Rhymes; the NEA Artistic Excellence Award, and a South Bank Sky Arts Award nomination for Heart of Darkness; and two British Composer Awards. (Photo Denise Ding/NY Bhodi)
Music for Voices and Strings by Tarik O’Regan

Twice Grammy®-nominated (Best Choral Performance and Best Classical Album)

Recorded September 2007 at Troy Savings Bank Music Hall, Troy, NY

A selection of new works by the young British Composer Tarik O’Regan, here given their premiere recording.
 Written since his move to New York, these compositions 
reflect the cultural plurality of today’s urban environment.
 Here is an art that seeks to forge a link between the spheres of
 “the ecstasies above” and the harsh realities of life on earth. –from Harmonia Mundi package notes

“Needless to say, the performances are first rate. This choir has an established reputation for excellence and has taken to O’Regan’s music as if it were created just for them (which some of it was!).” — ClassicsToday.com

“If Conspirare’s not the best choir in North America right now, I’d like you to show me a better. In fact, they operate internationally at the top level. This is choral royalty, committed to serious music-making … They recorded in the Troy Savings Bank, a difficult environment which yields splendid sonic results. The sound is yummy. ” — Classical Net (full review)

“Conspirare is one of America’s leading vocal ensembles, and it’s easy to hear why in these superb performances.” — International Record Review (full review)

Interview, Conspirare with Tarik O’Regan 2007

  1. Had I Not Seen the Sun (Emily Dickinson; commissioned by Conspirare)
  2. The Ecstasies Above (Edgar Allan Poe) I
  3. The Ecstasies Above (Edgar Allan Poe) II
  4. The Ecstasies Above (Edgar Allan Poe) III
  5. Threshold of Night
  6. Tal vez tenemos tiempo (Pablo Neruda; commissioned by Conspirare)
  7. Care Charminge Sleepe (John Fletcher)
  8. Triptych I. Threnody
  9. Triptych II. As We Remember Them
  10. Triptych III. From Heaven Distilled a Clemency
  11. I Had No Time to Hate (Emily Dickinson; commissioned by Conspirare)