8pm both nights

University Presbyterian Church
2203 San Antonio St. Austin, TX
Pay street parking + pay garage parking (University Co-op Garage is closest at 2414 San Antonio St.)

GENERAL ADMISSION $20 (Student w/ID $10)

Conspirare Symphonic Choir performs James Whitbourn’s (b. 1963) intriguing Luminosity (2008) on mystical texts about creation’s beauty, a multimedia work scored for choir, viola, tanpura (drone instrument), tam-tam (gong), and organ. With featured guest artists Austin Haller, organ, Bruce Williams, viola, and Shay Ishii Dance Company, Shay Ishii Choreographer.

Also featuring Morten Lauridsen’s (b. 1943) popular Lux Aeterna (1997), “an intimate work of quiet serenity centered around a universal symbol of hope, reassurance, goodness and illumination at all levels(Morten Lauridsen).

PROGRAM ORDER: Lux Aeterna—Intermission—Luminosity

program booklet

Composer James Whitbourn

James Whitbourn

Critics on Whitbourn’s Luminosity
MORE reviews at

“The texts selected by Whitbourn are by a number of mystic writers, including St. John the Evangelist, St. Teresa of Avila and St. Augustine. Whitbourn uses the forces at his disposal to create some most imaginative and often subtle sonorities and textures—the way the husky tones of the viola are employed is most evocative…The rapt concluding movement is particularly beautiful but the whole score is impressive and eloquent…” John Quinn, MusicWeb International

“James Whitbourn’s Luminosity expands the experience of classical music beyond the edges of the traditional map of classical style.” Tom Manoff, National Public Radio

Morten Lauridsen

Morten Lauridsen

Critics on Lux Aeterna
MORE reviews at

“No committed choral fan or singer will ever regret letting Lauridsen into his life” American Record Guide

“A composer with the heart of a Humanist, who heeded Leopold Mozart’s counsel—to read poetry aloud in order to understand the lyricism of music—Lauridsen’s masterful lyricism is a result of his ‘passion for poetry.’ The harmonic style, chromaticisms, dissonances and divisi writing reveal his contemporary soul.” Geraldine M. Rohling, Opera Today

Morten Lauridsen on his Lux Aeterna

Moving Light Singers and Instrumentalists
Craig Hella Johnson, Artistic Director and Conductor
Rick Gabrillo, Associate Conductor

(* denotes section leader)

  • Alison Acton
  • Erika Bacon
  • Annie Byrom
  • Cina Crisara*
  • Catherine Davis
  • Susan Fernandez*
  • Caroline Frommhold
  • Sara Hill
  • Charlotte Johnson
  • Monica Johnson
  • Bona Kim
  • Eva Laskaris
  • Zoe Littleton
  • Kari McDonald
  • Susan Meitz
  • Suzanne Mitchell
  • Rebecca Muñiz*
  • Adrienne Pedrotti
  • Senaida San Miguel
  • Lisa Solomon
  • Megan Starkey
  • Kirsten Watson*

  • Louise Avant
  • Fran Collmann
  • Mary Anne Connolly
  • Melissa Eddy
  • Karen Fincher
  • Cheryl Fuller
  • Wravan Godsoe
  • Glenda Goehrs
  • Helen Hays
  • LouAnn Lasher
  • Kathy Leighton
  • Katie Lessley
  • Kendra Lipman*
  • Mim Luetje
  • Laura Martin
  • Morgan Mingle
  • Susan Ohlrich*
  • Linda Blair Ramsey*
  • Deborah Rupp
  • Christy Salinas
  • Diana Sanchez-Bushong
  • Kristen Simpson
  • Agatha Torku
  • Chandi Wagner

  • Howard Burkett
  • Loel Graber
  • Jonathan Kelly
  • Robbie LaBanca*
  • Bill Lasher
  • Jim Maxwell
  • Ker Medero
  • Randy Preston
  • Richard (Bev) Raney
  • Dick Rew
  • Jonathan Riemer*
  • Eli Salazar
  • John Spence
  • Asher Streets
  • Chris Tuggey
  • James Volkema
  • Raymond Votolato

  • Roland Barrera
  • Caleb Bennetch*
  • Marshal Crenshaw
  • Robert Harlan*
  • Bruce Haufler
  • Robert Hays
  • Jake Jacobsen*
  • Robert (Bob) Karli
  • Ben R. King*
  • Matthew Klimek
  • Richard Knox
  • Michael Kriese*
  • Joseph Loukotka
  • Gary W. Pyle
  • Miguel Roberts
  • Duane Roth

  • Bruce Williams, Viola
  • Austin Haller, Organ
  • Mousumi Karmakar, Tanpura
  • Sean Harvey, Tam-tam

GustoEnjoy a special “Moving Light” Prix Fixe Dinner at Gusto!

Our restaurant partner, Gusto Italian Kitchen + Wine Bar, has created a special three-course menu especially for “Moving Light”! Enjoy this offer March 28-29. SEE MENU

Season Sustaining Underwriter

Season Sustaining Underwriter